top of page

Welcome to the Blue Church

A Short History:

The first Blue Church was built in 1790 however was destroyed by fire. The second church was built in 1809 and suffered the same fate however this present church, built in 1845 under the direction of Rev. Blakey, is in very good condition.  The cemetery is rich in history, containing the graves of many who were prominent in the early days of Upper Canada plus a monument to Barbara Heck, the founder of Methodism in America.

The care of this church and cemetery belong to a board who welcomes members and participation in their planning and events.   No one knows the real reason why the church was always painted blue, but the tradition is kept up still today.  Stop by and see the church and guest book, which reads like a globe-trotters handbook and contains warm, appreciative comments from our international visitors.

The quaint, intimate church boasts a Harry Horwood stained glass window of the Rich Young Ruler, and is used for small weddings

    The Blue Church and Cemetery

    County Road Two, at Blue Church Road

    Augusta Township, Ontario.

    3 miles West of Prescott.

    Worship:   While no regular Sunday services are held at Blue church, it is regularly used for weddings, special summer services AND graveside funerals.


    To find the Blue Church, exit Highway 401 at the Prescott /Domville exit, #716, and travel South towards the St. Lawrence river. Turn right on King Street and follow this road west to the Blue Church, which you’ll see on the right, 3 miles (approx. 10 Kms) outside Prescott.


    Blue Church Cemetery is a fully-operational cemetery with plots available at competitive prices.  Situated along the St. Lawrence river, the well-treed cemetery boasts one of the most scenic sites in the region.  The cemetery and church are visited by tourists from all over the world.

    Rev Jon F. Lavelle

    All Saints Anglican Parish Office
    Box 576
    Prescott, ON K0E 1T0


    bottom of page